SANTA MONICA—Let get ready for awards season, because the 34th Annual Spirit Awards revealed its nominees for 2019 on November 16 with the film “We the Animals” earned a total of 5 nominations including Best Feature.

Other films picking up multiple nominations included “Eighth Grade,” “You Were Never Really Here” and “First Reformed,” which each earned 4 nominations apiece. Vying for the Best Feature prize are “First Reformed,” “Eighth Grade,” “If Beale Street Could Talk,” “You Were Never Really Here” and “Leave No Trace.” A list of this year’s nominees can be viewed below:

Best First Feature


-“The Tale”

-“Sorry To Bother You”

-“We the Animals”


Best Director

-Barry Jenkins “If Beale Street Could Talk”

-Tamara Jenkins “Private Life”

-Paul Schrader “First Reformed”

-Lynne Ramsay “You Were Never Really Here”

-Debra Granik “Leave No Trace”

Best Screenplay

-Boots Riley “Sorry To Bother You”

-Paul Schrader “First Reformed”

-Tamara Jenkins “Private Life”

-Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”

-Richard Glatzer, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Wash Westmoreland “Colette”

Best First Screenplay

-Christina Choe “Nancy”

-Jennifer Fox “The Tale”

-Cory Finley “Thoroughbreds”

-Bo Burnham “Eighth Grade”

-Quinn Shephard and Laurie Shephard “Blame”

Best Female Lead

-Glenn Close “The Wife”

-Toni Collette “Hereditary”

-Regina King “Support the Girls”

-Elsie Fisher “Eighth Grade”

-Carey Mulligan “Wildlife”

-Helena Howard “Madeleine’s Madeline”

Best Male Lead

-Daveed Diggs “Blindspotting”

-John Cho “Searching”

-Christian Malheiros “Socrates”

-Joaquin Phoenix “You Were Never Really Here”

-Ethan Hawke “First Reformed”

Best Supporting Male

-Raul Castillo “We the Animals”

-Richard E. Grant “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”

-John David Washington “Monsters and Men”

-Josh Hamilton “Eighth Grade”

-Adam Driver “BlackKlansman”

Best Supporting Female

-Regina King “If Beale Street Could Talk”

-Tyne Daly “A Bread Factory”

-Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie “Leave No Trace”

-J. Smith-Cameron “Nancy”

-Kayli Carter “Private Life”

Best Documentary

-“Hale County This Morning, This Evening”

-“On Her Shoulders”


-“Of Fathers and Sons”

-“Minding the Gap”

-“Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”

Best International Film

-“Burning” (South Korea)

-“The Favourite (United Kingdom)

-“Shoplifters” (Japan)

-“Roma” (Mexico)

-“Happy as Lazzaro” (Italy)

Best Cinematography

-Diego Garcia “Wildlife”

-Ashley Connor “Madeline’s Madeline”

-Sayombhu Mukdeeprom “Suspiria”

-Zak Mulligan “We the Animals”

-Benjamin Loeb “Mandy”

Best Editing

-Joe Bini “You Were Really Never Here”

-Nick Houy “Mid90s”

-Anne Fabi, Alex Hall and Gary Levy “The Tale”

-Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates and Jeremiah Zagar “We the Animals”

-Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill and Julian Hart “American Animals”

The ceremony will be hosted on February 23, 2019, and will be held on a beach in Santa Monica. A host for the ceremony has not been announced.