George Karl Coach Of The Year


DENVER—On Wednesday, May 7, the NBA announced George Carl coach of the Denver Nuggets as the regular season Coach of the Year Award. This is Carl’s first win in his career. During the 2012-2013 regular season the Nuggets finished the season with a No. 3 seed and a record of 57-25 including a leagues best home record of 38-3. The Nuggets were eventually eliminated in the first round of the playoffs.

The record at home the Nuggets amassed was the 14th best home record in NBA history. This is Karl’s 25 season as a head coach and his ninth asDenver’s head coach. In his first Coach of the Year award, Karl totaled 404 points including 62 first-place votes. To round out the runner-ups were Erik Spoelstra of the Miami Heat, Mike Woodson of the New York Knicks Knicks, Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs and Frank Vogel of the Indiana Pacers.

The Coach of the Year Award is named after legendary coach and hall of famer Red Auerbach who took the Celtics to nine championships. George Karl is sixth coach with the most wins in NBA history and the first amongst active coaches with 1,131 wins. Including a streak of 21 regular seasons with a non-losing record tied with Phil Jackson.

By Luis Cuevas